Know Your Leaders on Twitter for the #AssemblyElections2019 in Maharashtra and Haryana

Twitter announces initiatives to enable engagement between leaders and voters.


Twitter is where people can follow all updates during elections and participate in conversations about candidates running, or topics that matter to them. As the voting dates for Maharashtra  and Haryana  Assembly Elections are nearing, conversation volume is picking up momentum with people, leaders and parties taking to the platform.

Twitter has launched several initiatives to provide real-time updates on the campaign trail, has worked closely with political parties and leaders on how to leverage Twitter for citizen engagement, and is encouraging voters to have their voices heard during the #AssemblyElections2019 taking place in Maharashtra and Haryana. 


Featuring Vandana Chavan (@MPVandanaChavan), Priyanka Chaturvedi (@priyankac19), Kumari Shaila (@kumari_selja), Sunita Duggal (@SunitaDuggal7), Sheilza Bhatia (@Sheilza29) among other women political leaders from the two States, Twitter has initiated  a video series in collaboration with policy partners Young Leaders for Active Citizenship (YLAC) and Policy and Development Advisory Group (PDAG) with the objective of bringing alive the vision, stories, struggle, triumph and the indomitable spirit of these women politicians. Recorded in English, Hindi and Marathi, in the videos these eminent women leaders also share how Twitter has been an enabler in bringing them closer to the citizens.  

Tweet link:

Tweet link:

Tweet link:

Users can follow the hashtag #HerPoliticalJourney for upcoming videos in the series.


Serving the public conversation, Twitter announced #ChaupalOnTwitter during #LokSabhaElections2019, which recorded more than one lakh views. In continuation of this, Twitter will be hosting Chaupal sessions with leaders ahead of the Assembly Elections across the two States. The Chaupals will facilitate direct engagement between the leader and citizens on Twitter, and also take place on-ground in the traditional chaupal format. The Q&A with the leader will also be broadcast live on the platform from the leaders’ handles. Questions using the hashtag #ChaupalOnTwitter will be sourced from people on Twitter leading up to the event.

Elections Emoji

To encourage people to vote and generate positive conversation on the service, Twitter has made live its special election emoji for the upcoming #AssemblyElections2019. Available from now until October 30, 2019, the election emoji can be activated using the following hashtags in a Tweet:  #AssemblyElections2019, #विधानसभाचुनाव2019, #MaharashtraAssemblyPolls, #मqqहाराष्ट्रविधानसभानिवडणूक, #महाराष्ट्रविधानसभाचुनाव, #HaryanaAssemblyPolls and #हरियाणाविधानसभाचुनाव.



To stay on top of the #AssemblyElections2019 follow the key political parties, candidates on Twitter:

Party accounts to follow: (in alphabetical order): 



AIMIM - @aimim_national

BJP-  @BJP4India

BJP Maharashtra - @BJP4Maharashtra

INC -  @INCIndia

INC Maharashtra - @INCMaharashtra

MNS -@mnsadhikrut

NCP - @NCPspeaks

SHIV SENA - @ShivSena




BJP -  @BJP4India

BJP Haryana - @BJP4Haryana

INC - @INCIndia

INC Haryana - @INCHaryana

INLD - @OfficialINLD



Key Political Leaders accounts to follow (in alphabetical order):



  1. Aaditya Thackeray - @AUThackeray
  2. Balasaheb Thorat - @bb_thorat
  3. Devendra Fadnavis - @Dev_Fadnavis
  4. Jayant Patil - @Jayant_R_Patil
  5. Pankaja Gopinath Munde - @Pankajamunde
  6. Priyanka Chaturvedi - @priyankac19
  7. Raj Thackeray - @RajThackeray
  8. Uddhav Thackeray - @OfficeofUT
  9. Supriya Sule - @supriya_sule
  10. Sanjay Nirupam - @sanjaynirupam
  11. Sharad Pawar - @PawarSpeaks
  12. Sanjay Dhotre - @SanjayDhotreMP
  13. Pritam Gopinath Munde - @DrPritamMunde
  14. Arvind Ganpat Sawant - @AGSawant
  15. Ashish Shelar - @ShelarAshish
  16. Ajit Pawar - @AjitPawarSpeaks
  17. Dhananjay Munde - @Dhananjay_munde
  18. Sanajy Raut - @rautsanjay61
  19. Vinod Tawade - @TawdeVinod
  20. Vandana Chavan - @MPVandanaChavan
  21. Vidya Thakur - @VidyaThakurBJP




  1. Abhay Singh Chautala - @AbhaySChautala
  2. Bhoopinder Singh Hooda - @BhupinderSHooda
  3. Charanjeet Singh Rori - @CharanjeetRori
  4. Deepender Singh Hooda - @DeependerSHooda
  5. Dharambir Singh - @ch_dharambir
  6. Dushyant Chautala - @d_chautala
  7. Inderjit Singh Rao - @Rao_InderjitS
  8. Kavita Jain - @Kavitajainbjp
  9. Kiran Choudhry - @officekiran
  10. Krishan Pal Gurjar - @KPGBJP
  11. Kumari Selja - @kumari_selja
  12. Manohar Lal Khattar - @mlkhattar
  13. Premlata Uchana - @PremlataUchana
  14. Ramesh Chander Kaushik - @RCKaushikBJP
  15. Raj Kumar Saini - @rajkumarsaini28
  16. Rattan lal Kataria - @kataria4ambala
  17. Renuka Bishnoi - @bishnoi_renuka

Payal Kamat, Senior Associate, Public Policy & Government, Twitter India said, “The public conversation on Twitter has never been more important than during the elections, the cornerstone of India’s democracy. As Maharashtra and Haryana gear up for the upcoming election, Twitter will enable citizens to know what is happening and democratize access to information. We are committed to establishing credible access to candidates irrespective of their location or language, and provide insights into a diversity of perspectives on critical issues; all in real-time townhall experience.”

Tags assigned to this article:
haryana elections twitter AssemblyElections2019

Around The World

Our Publications