Sabbas Joseph nominated for Impact Person of The Year ’17, first ever nominee from event industry

The nominee list for the 12th edition of Impact Person of The Year 2017 is more stellar than ever. And one name that sticks out quite noticeably is Sabbas Joseph, the founder of India's pioneering event agency Wizcraft International Entertainment.


Every year, the Impact Person of The Year award is presented to someone chosen for having influenced the industry by contributing significantly to the domain of media, advertising and marketing. The inclusion of Joseph in the list marks the first instance when an individual from the event industry has been nominated for the annual award.

As director of Wizcraft International Entertainment, Sabbas Joseph has managed several events for the company. He has more than 20 years of hands-on experience in the business of entertainment, event management and promotions. He has been associated with some of the best events that India has witnessed in the past two decades. These include, the 50 years of Indian Independence celebrations, the Michael Jackson concert, the Indian millennium celebrations, the first Afro Asian games, Independence Day celebrations in Kargil, 30 years of Mauritian Independence, India visits of Bill Clinton and Bill Gates, Concerts of Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle amongst several others. Wizcraft is the promoter and producer of the International Indian Film Academy and the IIFA Awards, which is held each year at exotic locations across the world, for the promotion of Indian cinema. Sabbas Joseph is also the president of the Event and Entertainment Management Association of India, currently serving his second term. In this backdrop, it is no surprise that Sabbas Joseph poses a considerable challenge to other competent nominees on the list.

This year Joseph will be competing with an impressive set of contenders including Ashish Bhasin, Prasoon Joshi, Baba Ramdev, Amitabh Kant, Umang Bedi, Anand Kripalu, Sanjiv Mehta among others.

While Vijay Shekhar Sharma, founder and CEO of Paytm was the Impact Person of the Year last year, some other past awardees of the title include Arnab Goswami, Lalit Modi, Vineet Jain, Vijay Mallya and Puneet Goenka.

Tags assigned to this article:
IMPACT Person of the Year Sabbas Joseph

Around The World

Our Publications