Radio Mirchi Kaddu Awards- Relentlessly recognizing the best of the worst


Every year the best and brightest of Bollywood get rewarded in marquee events across industries. For the others, Radio Mirchi recently announced the Mirchi Kaddu Awards to take revenge on those who tortured us with senseless plots, horrid acting and terrible music.

The campaign which was kicked off on 7th January, recently revealed the worst performers of year 2013. The categories included Kalam tod, Langri Taang, Bitwa Tumse Na Ho Paega, Pakau Film, Expiry Date, Kaan Main Dum and Phata Poster.

The nomination for Kalam Tod Award for lyrics that will make Anu Malik proud were-Ashish Pandit for Kaddu Katega toh Sab mein batega from R…Rajkumar , Sandeep Nath for Don’t touch my body from Bullet Raja , Amit Kasaria for Ishq ki Maa ki from I don’t love you , Sanjay Gupta & Anand Raaj Anand Laila teri le legi from Shootout at Wadala.

The nominees for Langri Taang Award for trying to dance and failing miserably at it were, Aamir Khan – (the alleged) Tap Dance – (Dhoom 3), Imraan Khan – (for shaking that )Tuu Tuu - (Gori tere Pyaar mein), Deol Family – (for not being able to shake anything ever) – (Yamla Pagla Deewana).

The Bitwa Tumse Na Ho Payega Award for contestants who tried and failed repepatedly were Jaccky Bhagnani (Rangrez) , Abhishek Bachchan (Dhoom 3) , Ram Gopal Verma (The Attacks of 26/11 and Satya 2) , Niel Nitin Mukesh (Shortcut Romeo, 3G, David).

Kaan Mein Dum Award for songs that didn’t  blow our minds  but our eardrums, and the nominations were Ishq ki Maa ki ( I don’t love you) , Apna Bombay Talkies (Bombay Talkies), Thank God it’s Friday (Himmatwala), Kaddu Katega (R Rajkumar).

The Phata Poster Nikla Zero Award for attempting to act has some regular nominations namely Imraan Khan (Matru Ki Bijli Ka Mandola, Gori Tere Pyaar Mein, Once upon a Mumbai Dobara) , Udai Chopra  (Dhoom 3) , Sonakshi Sinha ( Bullet Raja, R Rajkumar) , Kangana Renaut (Rajjo).

The nominees for Expiry Date Award for acting well beyond their shelf life were Dharmendra (Yamla Pagla Deewana), Preeti Zinta (Ishq in Paris), Chunky Pandey (Bullet Raja).

The film that was a total waste of time and money will be awarded with the Pakau Film Award and the nominations were namely Himmatwalla, Besharam, Zanjeer and Zilla Ghaziabad.

While the competition was clearly very tough, but the best among the worst took the lead. Radio Mirchi recently revealed the name of winner on the basis of SMS voting by listeners. Listeners were invited to vote for the worst across categories.

Tags assigned to this article:
awards radio Radio Mirchi

Around The World

Our Publications