Kickstart Entertainment launches India Nightlife Convention and Awards

Danke presents India Nightlife Convention and Awards (INCA) 2016 in association with Johnnie Walker powered by Dineout, is an intellectual property of Kickstart Entertainment and an initiative by National Restaurant Association of India (NRAI) created to bring India’s nightlife industry together.

Varun Dhawan with Riyaaz Amlani, President National Restaurant Association of India and Aman Anand, Director at Kickstart Entertainment

It is a platform specifically designed to bring together and recognize the various stakeholders of one of India’s most vibrant and fastest growing Industries- Nightlife.

The two day convention was followed by the awards on the night of 26th September 2016 recognizing the best from the bar and nightlife industry.

Participants from across the country competed against each other. A carefully selected list of jury members from the main metros (Mumbai, Delhi, Pune, Goa, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata) contributed towards finalizing the entrants from their respective cities. An appointed national jury nominated the best under each of the categories. Ernst & Young reviewed and tabulated the entire process revealing top finalists in each category.

Imran Khan came out to support the first ever India Nightlife Convention & Awards and spoke at the convention on 26th September 2016. Seen attending the awards were a list of top individuals from the nightlife industry, as well as a list of celebrities who were seen cheering their favourite bars and nightclubs. Those that were spotted on the red carpet were Varun Dhawan, Purab Kholi, Dino Morea, Arjan Bajwa, Siddharth Kapoor, Anu Malik, Sameer Kocchar, Bosco Martis, Narayani Shastri, Ken Ghosh, Mohammad Morani, Kiran Salaskar, Deepti Gujral, Candice Pinto, Vikram Raizada, Zeba Kohli, Zorawar Kalra, Rajeev Samant, Vicky Ratnani, Tanya and Aman Swetta, Ryan and Keenan Tham, Manasi Scott, Gizele Thakral and Manmeet Singh.

Also seen present were members of the Advisory Board – Riyaaz Amlani (President, NRAI & CEO/MD, Impresario Entertainment & Hospitality Pvt Ltd), AD Singh (Owner, Olive Bar & Kitchen Pvt Ltd), Dilip Joshi (Consultant for Restaurants, bars, nightclubs & Lounges), Kishore DF (Director, Bang On Consulting), David DeSouza (Owner, Tito’s Goa) and Jay Singh (Co -Founder and Executive Director, JSM Corporation Pvt Ltd), title sponsor Gaurav Gupta, Danke Exim India Pvt Ltd, Bradley Drummond, Solutions Manager at Harman Nightlife, Ewan Gunn, Diageo Whisky Master, Alan Miller, Chairman & Founder at Night Time Industries Association and all partners and sponsors.

Award categories included:

• Best Dive Bar-The Ghetto/The High Spirits Cafe

• Best Open Air Bar-AER

• Best Bar Food-Monkey Bar

• Best Café Bar-Heat Cup Coffee/Beer Cafe

• Best Debut Bar-Masalabar

• Best Bar Chain-Social

• Best Beer Bar-Doolally Taproom

• Best Cocktail Bar-PCO

• Best Resto Bar-Café Zoe

• Best Sports Bar-Underdoggs Sports Bar

• Best Bar in Hotel-The Library Bar

• Best Nightclub-Trilogy

• Best Venue for Live Performance-Bluefrog

• Best Wine Bar-The Tasting Room

• Best Concept Bar-Bar Stock Exchange

• Best Bar Interior-Social

• Best Lounge-Asilo

• Best Pop-up- Playground

• Best Promoter Award-The Wild City

• Best Artist Manager-Only Much Louder

• Best Live Bands/Acts-Peter Cat Recording Co.

• DJ of the year-Nucleya

• Bar of the year-Social

• Best F&B Director-Mayank Bhatt

• Best Music Event Festival-Bacardi NH7 Weekender

• Best Bartender/Mixologist-Nitin Tiwari

• Lifetime Contribution Award-David Dsouza.

Closing the awards ceremony was a live act by ‘The Other People’ who won the award for The Best Live Act in Mumbai in the regional round.

Tags assigned to this article:
Nightlife kickstart entertainment nrai danke

Around The World

Our Publications