KIIT and Foreign Correspondents Club Sign MoU to Institute Kalinga-FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism

exchange4media Group will assist FCC and KIIT in organizing the Awards.


The Foreign Correspondents’ Club of South Asia (FCC), New Delhi, and the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Tuesday (February 19) to institute the Kalinga-FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The MoU, signed by FCC President S Venkat Narayan and KIIT Founder Prof Achyuta Samanta, is for a period of five years (2019-2023). The KIIT will spend Rs 50 lakhs during this period on the awards and their conduct and administration.

Five awards, each worth Rs 1,00,000 in cash, will be presented along with a Medal and Citation to the best entries received in five categories, namely: Print, Television, Radio, Photography and Online.

The Awards will be given each year to journalists picked by the Jury as:

1. Print Journalist of the Year

2. Television Journalist of the Year

3. Radio Journalist of the Year 

4. Photo Journalist of the Year

5. Online Journalist of the Year

Founded in 1958, the FCC has been keen to promote and encourage coverage of the eight-nation SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) region in the global media, and acknowledge the best coverage of South Asia in the media outside the region by offering annual awards to individuals or teams that are adjudged as the best entries by an independent jury. 

The FCC invited Prof Samanta, Founder of the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT) University and the Kalinga Institute of Social Studies (KISS) University, Bhubaneswar, to collaborate in establishing Annual FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism to be given to journalists for their work out of India and other countries in South Asia, namely: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, and published or broadcast in the global media outside the SAARC region.   

The KIIT Deemed to be University is among India’s most sought-after institutions, attracting students from India and 50 other countries to pursue professional and technical education. The 15-year young KIIT is among the first self-financing universities in India to be ranked by The Times Higher Education World University Rankings. 

Prof Samanta also founded the Kalinga Institute of Social Studies, or KISS, the world’s largest fully-free and fully-residential tribal institute, now a Deemed University. It provides food, accommodation, health care, and other basic necessities of life to 50,000 tribal children.

Prof Samanta has graciously agreed to sponsor the Awards initially for a period of five years (2019 to 2023), subject  to renewal thereafter. KIIT will spend Rs 10,00,000 (Rupees Ten Lakhs only) each year on the awards and expenses involved in organizing them.  Awards in each category will carry a sum of Rs 1,00,000 (Rupees One Lakh only) in cash, a Medal and a Citation. 

exchange4media Group will assist the FCC and the KIIT in organizing the Awards. 

The first lot of Awards will be given in March 2019 for Articles, Photographs, Radio and TV Programmes etc published or broadcast during January-December, 2018. Entries are welcome in all languages, but must be accompanied by an English translation. The same time schedule will be applicable every year. 

A Jury of eminent media professionals will be formed by the FCC and KIIT to judge the Entries. Entries should be submitted either by the journalist himself/herself, or nominated by a third person or institution. The awards will be given to individuals, teams or to institutions for articles/ photograph(s)/Radio/TV broadcasts or a candidate’s body of work during the preceding 12 months. 

The Entries for a given year (January-December) should reach the FCC by the end of every February the following year. They should be sent in a packet marked ENTRY FOR FCC AWARDS 2019 to The Manager, FCC, AB-19 Mathura Road, Opposite Pragati Maidan Gate # 7, New Delhi-110001. 

However, this year, Entries can be sent to reach the FCC by March 15, 2019. 

Juries will be formed each year to judge each category of awards. The majority decision of each jury will be final. The juries will meet two days before the presentation ceremony to pick the winners, and will be present at the award-giving function in New Delhi in the third weekend of March every year. 

KIIT will be represented by Dr Achyuta Samanta’s nominee Raja Ramesh, while the FCC will be represented by its President or his/her nominee(s) to oversee the work involved in the administration of the Awards, attending meetings and assisting the jury, etc. 

For more details you can get in touch with:

S Venkat Narayan, President, FCC, New Delhi, Mobile: 98100 60943.

Prof Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT and KISS Universities, Bhubaneswar, Mobile: 94370 00928.

Tags assigned to this article:
KIIT FCC Kalinga Institute exchange4media group

Around The World

Our Publications