India Online Poker Championship 2020 smashes multiple records

The 2020 IOPC tournament gripped the entire poker fraternity and witnessed an attendance of over 2300 players.


Spartan Poker’s most prestigious India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) 2020 has been a tale of rising numbers and records with guaranteed prize pools (GTD) galore to the delight of all players. The 2020 IOPC tournament gripped the entire poker fraternity and witnessed an attendance of over 2300 players. Over 17 days of mind-bending online tournament action, contestants battled it for the crowning title and a jaw-dropping 16+ Cr GTD.

The winner of the IOPC Millionaire Main Event, Anurag Srivastava triumphed on the last thunderous night of the series, bagging a whopping prize of INR 59+ Lakhs. He is now the biggest winner in an online poker tournament in India. While the most prominent of them all so far was a 35-year-old CA from Gujarat, Dhruvin Kothari who took home not one but two titles and both in flagship events. His breakout run started with the Millionaire Legends title that he clinched for INR 36.77 Lakhs. Post which, he was seen conquering the IOPC Super High Roller for INR 25.18 Lakhs, booking a massive INR 60 Lakhs profit in total.

The India Online Poker Championship has been bigger and better in every sense of the word where an array of poker players showcased their skills and got the ultimate shot at glory. Spartan Poker started the year with the notable India Poker Championship (IPC) in Goa and scheduled IOPC right after it on Jan 24, 2020, keeping the players hooked. They keep coming up with crisp ideas to fascinate their loyal base and bring out a better quality of play in every season. IOPC Jan 2020 crushed its original GTD to cross the 20 Crores mark as compared to last season’s achieved prize pool of over 15 Crores.

Expressing his delight on this, Mr. Amin Rozani, founder and managing director of Spartan Poker said, “The idea behind the inception of the India Poker Championship (IPC) and India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) was to present poker players in the country a poker entity which they could call their own and associate with. The overwhelming response that we have been receiving each year is a testament to the vision we had for both the tournaments. 2019 has seen IPC and IOPC scale further heights with the emergence of so many Indian players and we appreciate all for their heightened interest. As part of our constant endeavour to promote a skilled-based game like poker in the country, we will keep on striving to take IPC and IOPC to the zenith in the coming years to open further avenues for poker enthusiasts.”

The tournament saw winners with notable titles:

IOPC The Millionaire X5

· Gokul Raj

· Kunal Kubba

· Nikhil Ramesh

· Aditya Wadhwani

IOPC The Millionaire Legends

· Dhruvin Kothari

IOPC The Millionaire Main Event

· Anurag Srivastava

IOPC Super Highroller

· Dhruvin Kothari

IOPC PLO Highroller

· Gaurav Sood

IOPC Highroller

· Manoj Pentakota

Tags assigned to this article:

Around The World

Our Publications